Tags

, , ,


I love Grape Nuts Cereal. As a kid, my favorite cereal in the mornings was: bran flakes! Of course, Cookie Crunch was right up there but the chance of it appearing on my breakfast menu was pretty slim. So, I developed a liking for grainier cereals at an early age.

This morning (which was a perfectly lovely morning, I might add), I went grocery shopping. One of the items on my list was cereal. You should have seen me reaching for cereal, reading the label and replacing the cereal on the shelf. Quite frustrating if you’re trying to balance taste and nutrition. While James can stomach plain shredded wheat, I have yet to reach that state of nirvana.

My favorite cereal these days is Quaker Oats Squares. Raise your hand if you think that cereal is ridiculously overpriced. Thank you. We don’t buy them unless we see them at Big Lots. We don’t buy Grape Nuts either–cause that’s an awfully small box for that big, big price. I managed to find a couple of boxes of Kashi cereal on sale and came away with them for James…but nothing for me. Nothing but a plan, that is…
100_6675
If you’ve been reading for any amount of time, you know one of my favorite cookbooks is the More with Less Cookbook by Doris Jantzen Longacre. I happened to remember a recipe for Grape Nuts within its pages, so I set out to conquer.

Mother’s Grape Nuts

(with variations)
makes 2.5 lbs. 350*


3 c whole wheat flour
1/2 c wheat germ I was out, so I used wheat bran. Not the same thing, I know…
1 c brown sugar
2 c buttermilk
1 t baking soda
1-2 t cinnamon
1/2 t salt: the original recipe calls for a pinch of salt but the result was horribly flat tasting.

Batter/Dough

Batter/Dough


beat until smooth. Spread dough on 2 large greased cookie sheets. Bake 25-30 minutes. While still warm, break into chunks and whirl briefly in a blender. I found that I needed to tear the chunks into about 1 inch pieces, about 1 cup at a time.
You'll need smaller pieces than this...

You'll need smaller pieces than this...


after the blender, untoasted

after the blender, untoasted


Crisp in 250″* oven for 20-30 minutes. Store in airtight container.
Toasted grape nuts

Toasted grape nuts


Result? Really delicious. This recipe would also work great for graham crackers–with a few substitutions, that is.

