Tags

, , , , , ,


James and I love breakfast cereal.

Breakfast cereal does not love us.  Especially if it contains oats.  Oats hate us.  :)

How to have a delicious breakfast “cereal” without sacrificing our gastro-intestinal comfort?  Well, I obviously had to come up with a delicious alternative.  We picked up a granola cereal at Big Lots that was chock full of oats and pumpkin seeds and flax seeds.  It’s really very tasty but quite easy to see that it’s high in sugar and carbs!  So, online I went in my search for a wonderful breakfast “granola” that would suit our palates!  I looked on many sites and ended up combining several different recipes.  Most recipes called for the addition of coconut flakes and dried fruit–which I despise!  Another hurdle, aside from the fruit and coconut, was how to give the granola the nice body and crunch that oats give regular granola.  Well, that turns out to be fairly simple.

Rather than continuing to talk about it, let me just show you the recipe and take you through how I made it!  First, some photographs of the finished product:

The recipe–>

3 cups whole raw almonds

1 cup sunflower seeds

1 cup pumpkin seeds

2 T (or however much you want) flax seed meal

1/3 cup raw honey

1/3 cup coconut oil

2 t cinnamon

1/2 t nutmeg–or more–as you like it

2 t vanilla

As you can see from the ingredients, these recipe is easy, easy, easy.  Pulse the almonds in your food processor until they’re chopped up into little bits.  The next time I make this, I’ve decided to chop 1/3 of the almonds pretty finely because the almond meal provides the crispiness of the nut and seed granola.  The other 2/3 of the granola can be as fine or as chunky as you like.  Do the same for the pumpkin and sunflower seeds.  Mix in some flax seed meal.  I put this dry blend into a cast iron skillet at this point, in readiness for the next step!

In a saucepan, melt coconut oil.  Add honey, cinnamon and nutmeg.  Bring to a boil and turn off heat after all ingredients are nicely combined.  When liquid has cooled somewhat, add vanilla.  Pour liquid mixture into nut/seed blend.  Coat nuts and seeds thoroughly and then spread evenly onto a cookie sheet/jelly roll pan.

Bake at 300 degrees for about 30 minutes.  I cooked mine for a little less and came *this close* to burning it–so do be careful!

Allow mixture to cool because these oils will burn your lips!  Eat with milk or by the handful!

And, since some of you may be wondering, it wasn’t an inexpensive recipe but I don’t think I’ll be able to eat much of it at a time!  We bought the ingredients at W*Mart and here’s what we spent:

2 lb bag of raw almonds: 9.97

1 lb bag of sunflower seeds: 2.98

1 lb bag of pepitas: 2.98

coconut oil: 6.99

honey: from our own dear beehives!

all other ingredients: staple items in the pantry

This recipe made two quart jars full and I have enough nut/seed ingredients to make another batch.

