Well, I’ve been thinking about this post for about 24 hours now. Here it is…

I was on the Etsy Forums yesterday when someone started a thread informing people that not everyone is a Christian.

Wow. No way.

Other people chimed in to say that didn’t Christians know bunnies and eggs are symbols of fertility left over from ancient pagan rituals…

Again, you must be kidding me…

Of course, the obligatory whining complaining about how Christians just can’t be bothered to understand anything but their own outdated, misogynistic beliefs soon followed. The discussion was rife with complaints about people wishing anyone a “Happy Easter” and how offensive it possibly could be…when all of a sudden a wunderkid says that when someone wishes her a “Happy Easter” she responds with Happy Zombie Jesus Day.

Oh, the waves of laughter and right ons…you tell them sister and wish I’d thought of that’s were rolling. One person posted a few times that the thread was becoming offensive to Christians and the response was, “I can’t believe some people get offended when others are just trying to have a decent conversation. Nobody here is being offensive,” ad nauseum…

Umm, excuse me? Zombie Jesus? Christians are offensive? I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again…nothing chaps my hide like prejudice, hatred and bull-headedness masquerading as tolerance. It just isn’t so folks. You can’t trash conservatives, Christians, right-wingers, pagans, Buddhists, loggers or tree-huggers and maintain your high moral ground.

What I’m trying to say is: fighting fire with fire never won any battles…or friends for that matter. Don’t label someone with a different viewpoint as automatically intolerant or the enemy.

