MAKING THE TIME . . .

They say you make time to do the things that are really important to you. Exercise, prayer, reading, loved ones, etc. I usually spend about five to ten minutes reading a book before I fall asleep at night, but 5 minutes a night does not get a book read very quickly.

I have so many books I want to read: “Bury My Heart at Wounded Knee”, “Fast Food Nation”, “Mayflower”, “The Heart is a Lonely Hunter”. I just picked up “The God of Animals” by Aryn Kyle. She lives in Missoula, Montana and her story so far is a breath of fresh air – I imagine like being surrounded by the mountains in Montana. I’ll share my thoughts on this book soon.

Speaking of a breath of fresh air, Monday night my son had soccer practice. As I stood out on the field surrounded by the grass and the setting sun and the cool breeze, for a moment I wasn’t aware of the dozens of 6 year olds running around, screaming. I was lost in nature’s moment and wanted to lie down and go to sleep. We need to get lost more often, fall asleep in the grass more often . . . read a good book more often.

