This week, I took lots of photos of our yummy meals, so I would have more to share. Last week, we got so many great comments on the fish, that we had it again. Honestly, we have gone from salmon being very, very seldom to once a week. Has anyone tried the recipe yet?

I think the biggest hit of last week was the homemade pizza. It started out as chili spaghetti, but we both decided we had enough of pasta and so the dinner morphed. I took the chili/tomato/pepper sauce and used it as the pizza sauce. The homemade rolls I was making turned into pizza crust, I sauteed jalapenos, bacon and mushrooms together for the topping and James shredded string cheese (no mozzarella in the house). Ah, but it was a lovely pizza!

Another big hit were the BLTs and homefries we had last week. My favorite and James’ favorite! Cracked Pepper bacon served on homemade oatmeal bread with homegrown tomatoes and herb salad. I broke down and fried the home fries ’cause nothing else was working!

And finally, my all-time favorite. If you ever come to my house, I will probably serve this: Carrot Souffle!

2 cups cooked carrots
1/2 cup butter
1 cup brown sugar
3 eggs
3 T flour
1 t baking powder
1 T vanilla

Cook carrots, melt butter: blend together in blender (a mixer won’t work, you really need that pureed quality!). Add three eggs and sugar. Blend all together again. While blending, add flour and baking powder. Finally, add vanilla.

Pour mixture into a greased baking dish. You may use any size, depending on portions. Sometimes we use souffle dishes, sometimes I cook it in an 8X8 pan. However, we always save half for breakfast the next morning. Cold carrot souffle is one of the best dishes around!

other dishes:
macaroni and tomato sauce (old time stand-by)
sauteed rice with mushrooms
avocado and tomato salad
baked potatoes with chili topping
broiled salmon with rice/buckwheat

Hope you’ve enjoyed some of my menus. Tune in later for Gardening Tip #5: Don’t kill ’em all!

