You know you have been blogging too long and too hard when in the middle of enjoying a good book, you wish you could leave a comment for the author. What? No comment box? How am I supposed to connect with you? I want to feel like I am a part of your wit!

These are the thoughts I have been having while reading my newest undertaking: I’m a Stranger Here Myself by Bill Bryson. James has been reading Bill Bryson’s books for a while and Rich keeps recommending anything by him. So, why has it taken Rebecca so long to pull a Bryson book off the shelf? Obviously, I have been too busy blogging to bother with reading paperbound wit.

Too bad I waited so long. Now, I have at least three or four books to catch up with everybody else. Ah, but I love the challenge. I’m a Stranger Here Myself is a compilation of newspaper columns written by Bill Bryson for an Anglo-newspaper. After reading just the introduction, I was hooked. I don’t know how long it has been since I have laughed so loudly and so often while reading a book. Usually, those laughs are reserved for Antique Mommy. Then again, she’s as likely to make one cry as laugh so you have to be careful with her…

Bill Bryson, on the other hand, writes about doughnuts at the post office and the chilling thrills of playing roulette with the garbage disposal. He gently pokes fun at Americans but we don’t care because we know he’s one of us! So many things we take for granted from cars with seventeen cupholders to acres of parking spots, become fodder for his dry wit.

This is the kind of book you want to interrupt your reading partner with. No matter how content they may seem to be with their own reading material, you know for certain that they would much rather hear what Bill Bryson has to say about life in the United States. So, go ahead, interrupt them. Drag them away and then proceed to read aloud from I’m a Stranger Here Myself. They’ll thank you for it.

By the way, I never did find Bill’s blog. Someone find it and leave a comment for me, won’t you?

