As promised, here are some more of the Foundational Truths as outlined by John Ortberg. For me, number four on this list is of especial truth.

  • Whenever I fail, I can always start again right away.
  • No one knows the full extent to which a human being can experience God’s presence.
  • My desire for God ebbs and flows, but His desire for me is constant.
  • Every thought carries a “spiritual charge” that moves me a little closer to or a little farther from God.
  • Every aspect of my life–work, relationships, hobbies, errands–is of immense and genuine interest to God.

On page 96 of his book, Ortberg goes on to quote Paul as saying “We take every thought captive.” As a clinical psychologist, he brings up the idea of filtering 185 billion mental images through the course of our lives. He says that we can only do this through the power of God. Being an introvert, I feel as though I am constantly examining myself and people and events around me. This continual introspection can begin to wear on a person’s defenses–unless these thoughts lead me closer to God. We must constantly choose life in our thoughts. The thoughts that lead us to death, anxiety, fear and so forth must be filtered out of our mindstream. Only the thoughts with the “positive spiritual charge” are allowed free play.

