Mmmmmm…I can almost taste it now! This recipe was born out of a deep need for something creamy, rich and sweet. I looked at a can of pumpkin and thought: “I can make something like pumpkin pie!” So, with a little tweaking, I came up with what I called Pumpkin Something I have found the “suffix” something to be quite useful when I’m not sure just what I’ve made but want to give it a cute name. It works great for pumpkin. Pumpkin Something–just has a ring to it, don’t you know?


Pumpkin Something

This recipe begins its life as pie and ends it as something much more satisfying…

*1 can of pumpkin (mashed, unsweetened), about 16 oz
*1 10 oz can of evaporated milk (can you believe I actually had this just sitting in
the cabinet??
1/2 cup brown sugar
1 T vanilla
3 eggs
1 t cinnamon
1/4 t (each) ginger,nutmeg,cloves
please feel free to add more or less of these spice ingredients. myself, I’m always heavy on vanilla and cinnamon–I would probably use more cinnamon than this and no cloves, since I don’t have any!!

Combine all ingredients in a blender. Puree. Grease 6 custard dishes and pour mixture into prepared dishes. Bake at 350 degrees fahrenheit until set (test with fork for doneness). You can actually eat this mixture at any level of done-ness, just make sure the eggs are thoroughly cooked!

