Tags

, , ,



I have been intently and voraciously devouring Pride and Prejudice these last few days. With that in mind, I thought what fun it would be to do another Wordy Thursday Thirteen, this time with words found in writers of the period. I hope many of these words are already in your vocabulary, but if not, I will provide definitions for each lovely turn of thought. Enjoy!

  1. panegyric: \ˌpa-nə-ˈjir-ik, –ˈjī-rik\–formal or elaborate praise–Mr. Collins’ panegyric of Lady De Bourgh is quite irritating to Elizabeth.
  2. palliate: to cover by excuses and apologies–Though Elizabeth desired to palliate the atrocious behavior of her mother and younger sisters, her filial devotion kept her from it.
  3. dilatory: characterized by procrastination–If I had not been dilatory in this matter, my TT entry would have been posted much sooner!
  4. disapprobation: (quite likely my favorite word of Jane Austen’s. One can assume that she was partial to it as well because it is liberally sprinkled in her novels) the act of state of disapproving
  5. diffidence: What a sweet word! hesitation in acting or speaking though lack of self-confidence–Miss Darcy, by her lack of conversation, exhibited great diffidence in her first meeting with Elizabeth Bennet.
  6. temerity: unreasonable or foolhardy contempt of danger or opposition–Lydia Bennet showed great temerity in her sudden and foolish elopement with Mr. Wickham.
  7. repine: to long for something–Elizabeth spent many hours regretting her hasty and ill-advised opinion of Mr. Darcy. She greatly repined for a chance to express her remorse.
  8. umbrage: (this word is not found in Ms. Austen’s writing in this novel, I first became acquainted with it in Hannah Hurnard’s work: Mountains of Spices–a sequel to Hind’s Feet on High Places)–a feeling of pique or resentment at some fancied slight or insult.
  9. diminution–the act, process or instance of diminishing
  10. vicissitudinous: marked by fluctuations in condition–thank you for bringing this word to my attention last week. It is now marked in my memory as wonderful and full-deserving of much usage. I love to say it!
  11. timorous: (this word reminds me of a mouse…)of a timid dispostion–Mice are usually timorous when confronted with the need to be seen in the open.
  12. exigent: requiring immediate aid or action–A child swallowing bleach is an exigency that one does not often wish to repeat. Yes, my little sister did this when she was quite young. How she thought it would taste good, we’re not sure. She is fine. Don’t worry.
  13. penception: I am sure I saw this word in the earliest chapters of Pride and Prejudice. However, I am having quite a bit of difficulty in tracking down its meaning. The best I can come up with is that it refers to being aware of one’s surroundings.

And that, my friends, concludes this week’s edition of Thursday 13. I hope you enjoyed it and be sure to visit other Thursday 13ers to see what they are up to as well!

