Tags

, , , , , , , ,


The last few weeks have been a veritable feast of reading and learning new things. Beside joining the Beth Moore Bible study, Living Beyond Yourself, I have also been reading several books. Let’s just say that I’m in kick-yourself-in-the-hiney growth mode. It’s a good time.

One of the books I’ve been reading is Rescuing Your Love Life by Drs. Henry Cloud and John Townsend. I have often enjoyed listening to the radio program these two gentlemen host: New Life Live and their book lives up to their reputation. Granted, I am not finished with the book, but I wanted to talk about it here a little bit.

The book is separated into what the authors call Dumb Attitudes, or things that will sink your love life. For some of us who are drowning in dumb attitudes, the analogy is perfect. Can I just be frank and share with you all the Dumb Attitude that has spoken to me the most? I’ll be honest and say that the book seems to have been written with me in mind so choosing just one so far has been a stretch…

Dumb attitude #1 contains a section about immaturity. In a nutshell, what do you need your lover to be for you? Did you never make peace with your parents? Are you still not willing to accept responsibility? What attitudes are you bringing to the relationship that are the result of being not fully developed? Cloud and Townsend write about four immaturity indicators:

  1. detachment-makes the other person in the relationship feel alone,
  2. control-resisting the freedom of your partner,
  3. irresponsibility-undependable and unreliable, and
  4. self-centeredness-failure to step outside one’s own viewpoint.

TMI Tuesday time: I am fairly really controlling. It’s something I’ve been working on but nothing will spur you to action like learning what an immature behavior the need for control is. It’s a lovely epiphany to discover that I don’t have to be in charge of everything! Simple enough for most of you, I’m sure…but revelatory for me.

Books that are coming up in the queue…

In a Sunburned Country–Bill Bryson

The Fred Factor–Mark Sanborn

