Tags

, , , ,


We have several adorable and functional bird feeders here at BrightHaven. Unfortunately, our neighbors have several lean and highly functional kitties. Don’t get me wrong, I admire an animal that can feed itself (kind of the point of this post), I just don’t want to be setting out a birdie buffet. That said, I only rarely fill the feeders. Rather, I try to let any spilled bird seed grow into its intended plant. What do you figure comes from those seeds? Well, it’s not something crazy. It looks just like a little corn sprout and doesn’t get too tall. It reseeds itself and comes back every year. How can it get any better?

It gets better when you realize the birds are actually eating it! I took these photos from our library window and then stitched them together. Click on the image to actually see the little cardinal enjoying its foraging!

