Tags

, , , , , , ,


and I run this here blog. What is going on? Do you ever get the feeling that writing a single paragraph or uploading another photo is just more than you can handle? I’ve kind of been there lately. I must get all that energy back because fall planting season is upon us! We’ll need lots of turnips and kale and lettuce and cilantro and sugar snaps and garlic and onions.

Since, for a while, I was posting recipes on Saturdays, I’ll leave you with a recipe I made up while we were in Louisiana last week. That’s right, the week Gustav came ashore. We were safe, just unable to come back home because all the roads were closed. How interesting. Anyway, I made these cookies in between losing power the first and second times.

Almond Butter Hurricane Cookies

3/4 cup butter

1 cup sugar

1/2 tablespoon almond extract

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

***Cream together butter, sugar and extracts***

1 t baking powder

1/2 teaspoon salt

2 cups flour (1/2 wheat, 1/2 white)

***Combine remaining ingredients. These cookies can be eaten at any stage of power. No eggs so can safely be eaten raw. Power came on for a little while? Can be eaten warm and very gooey from the oven. Be sure to make strong coffee while power is on!! Cookies also taste good completely baked.

Enjoy!

This picture is the most serendipitous I have ever taken. Any guesses why??

