Tags

, , , ,


A few nights ago, James and I sat beside the fish pond here at BrightHaven, contemplating life, dinner and mosquitoes.  Mostly, we contemplate mosquitoes.  In our little pond, we have quite the herd of mosquito minnows so any stray mosquito larvae are fed to the fish posthaste.

Our little herd started out with three minnows donated by Pensacola Seed and Garden.  Within a couple of months, we were delighted to find dozens of minuscule minnows darting about in the pond.  We pondered the oddity of not finding any minnow eggs but then put it off to the inundation of toad eggs at the time. After some reading, I discovered that these little minnows are live bearers so of course we wouldn’t find any eggs.  I also found that they reproduce every six to eight weeks.  Given that about half of the fish population would be reproducing within two months it seemed our pond would not be able to sustain the life.

Fast forward to the other night.  I had a fun day of feeding pestilent caterpillars to the fish and noticed that they seemed to be absolutely ravenous.  It occurred to me that perhaps the fish population was down because they were (horrors) eating each other.  I was somewhat content with that explanation until just last night.  James was out of the house so I gathered a few cushions and lay down beside the pond to let my mind be lulled by the darting fish and the trickling fountain.  Sheer heaven, I tell you!

Anyway, the little fish were swimming gleefully (I guess) when I noticed Miss Sadie doing a fine imitation of fish stalking.  She advanced slowly and with a lightning-like dart, gobbled up the nearest minnow!  I was astounded but couldn’t take my eyes away from the gruesome scene.  Miss Sadie proceeded to eat minnow the entire time I watched.  Granted, she didn’t get one at every strike but she was successful enough not to be going hungry.  There’s population control for you.

Did I mention that Miss Sadie is a goldfish?

Miss Sadie

Miss Sadie

