Tags

, , , , ,


Pumpkin Butter--first batch minus two jars

Pumpkin Butter--first batch minus two jars

So many months ago, when I introduced you all to my monstrous pumpkin patch, I couldn’t imagine actually harvesting the orange behemoths. Well, yesterday and today I have canned several jars of pumpkin butter (or a variation thereof). This morning, we had pumpkin butter on toasted bagels. Tonight, pumpkin ice cream from my trusty More with Less Cookbook. Do you have this book? If you do not, do yourself a favor and scout around for a copy of it somewhere. They crop up regularly on eBay and usually sell for around ten dollars. Anyway, the ice cream was a super smash hit. I’ll add pictures later with James modeling.

Pumpkin Butter

5 pounds pumpkin

water to cover bottom of kettle

1 T cinnamon

1/2 t nutmeg

2 whole cloves

2 cups brown sugar

1 t salt (optional)

Basically, this recipe works just like you’re making apple butter. My pumpkin butter is a little saucey because I added too much water to the kettle. In fact, Granny says not to add any water at all to make the butter. I added some anyway because I was afraid of burning it and ruining the whole batch.

You should let this mixture cook for about 30 minutes. Use a masher to reduce the size of the pumpkin chunks.

Although my pumpkins are not yielding a strong pumpkiny flavor, we are enjoying making different things with the garden product. The one I used today weighed 35 pounds–and it’s not the largest one! Perhaps tomorrow we’ll try the curried pumpkin soup that Silence is always raving about.

Making the pumpkin butter:

As you can see in the photos (be sure to click on them), I only used one chunk of this pumpkin. With that chunk, we made three pints of pumpkin butter and 1/2 gallon of pumpkin ice cream.

EDITED (1/26/2010)–Making the pumpkin butter this year, I cut it up into chunks and put it in a large cast iron skillet.  No water.  I sprinkled much cinnamon over the top.  I also cut up fresh ginger to add to the mixture.  As an added twist, I mixed the Musquee de Provence pumpkin with a Seminole Squash (pumpkin) I had on hand–amazing flavor addition.  After cinnamon/ginger/pumpkin mixture was thoroughly cooked down, I added about 1/2 cup of brown sugar to it, along with some salt and a bit of nutmeg.

