Tags

, , , , ,


Something tells me that I’m going to be writing a lot about pumpkins for the next little while. That is, I’ll be writing about pumpkins if I can stop thinking about compost piles and wasp nests.

That’s right, I found another wasp nest.  Or, should I say, it found me?  I was picking up a pile of weeds when I felt something bump me in the head.  I looked up and came face to face with a very active nest!  Can that be my what I’m thankful for this Sunday?  I’m thankful the wasp merely bumped me and refrained from stinging!!

Back to the pumpkin ice cream.  Ya’ll, this stuff is simply amazing.  It’s rich and creamy with luscious sweetness and a rich, eggey custardy flavor.  Perfect.  Take a look at  these photos…

And, here’s the recipe:

Pumpkin Ice Cream

2 cups milk (scalded)

Combine in bowl

2 eggs, beaten

1 c sugar

1/8 t salt

2 c mashed cooked pumpkin (or use pumpkin butter and omit half sugar and all spices)

2 t cinnamon

1 t nutmeg

1/2 t allspice

1/4 t ginger

1 T vanilla

add to hot milk and cook 4 minutes longer.  Cool

Add:

1 c cream (may use half and half as substitute for milk and cream, that’s what we did)

Freeze according to directions on your ice cream freezer.  Enjoy!!

