Tags

, ,


Ah, we all had a really wonderful time.  I wish I could upload some pictures but alas, upload speed on dial-up is truly barbaric.  I don’t mind waiting a few extra seconds to get the connection–but hours to upload high resolution pictures is not my idea of fun!

We cooked a truly enormous amount of food yesterday: BBQ chicken, hamburgers, steaks, ribs and sausages.  For a girl who makes a packet of leg quarters last and last.  And last, it was a LOT of meat.  Of course, we also had broccoli casserole, potluck salad (my sisters’ specialty), deviled eggs, peanut butter balls (they were a hit!!), three types of cake (turns out my uncle’s wife is a chef (I never knew!).  Of course, I made MawMaw Joy’s Lemon Ice Box Pie.  MawMaw passed on in August, so it’s up to me to carry on the icebox pie tradition.  It’s a recipe I truly love to share.  My own personal take on the pie is to substitute lime for the lemon juice.  It’s truly scrumptious.

Cousins, aunts, uncles, grandmother, grandchildren and all gathered beneath the enormous cedar tree in the front yard.  My shutter happy finger took over 100 pictures.  After everyone left, Matthew took my sister and I and his cute girlfriend out to Kisatchie Bayou Camp. 

Kisatchie is the national forest on the outskirts of which my family’s home is situated.  The forest boasts some of Louisiana’s highest elevation, with longleaf vistas and bluffs.  As a child, I thought these were mountains.  I suppose to a Louisiana girl, anything above sea level could qualify, right?  After driving for 40 minutes down windy and rutted dirt roads, we came to a beautiful clearing in the forest, well maintained with primitive campsites and cold, clear running water.  The Caroline Dormand trail, a horseback/foot trail, runs right along the water and what a pleasing hike it must be.  We have already set a date to go camping during Thanksgiving holidays. 

Hope you all are enjoying your families and your homes.  I miss my dear husband but am relishing this time back in the country.

PawPaw and Kinsey

PawPaw and Kinsey

Mommy and Kinsey

Mommy and Kinsey

Matthew and Hannah

Matthew and Hannah

Floating in Kisatchie Bayou

Floating in Kisatchie Bayou

