Tags

, ,


I was afraid I wouldn’t be able to vote because I had forgotten to change my mailing address but I will be able to.  I’m very happy about that.  I don’t like being afraid.  It seems to me that this election period has stirred up more fear and strife than any other time I can remember.  I’m sure as I grow older, I will remember things differently, but other folks are saying the same thing.  So much information and misinformation is being propagated by media outlets that it’s hardly bearable.  I admit, that I was annoyed by most news sources before this election season.  Now, I truly, soundly and markedly dislike them.  I’m not going to use a stronger word because adding to the negative pot never helped anyone.

I desperately wanted to vote for Ron Paul in this election.  As a libertarian, he was and still is my first choice.  In fact, my family teased me when I returned by telling me that Ron Paul is on the Louisiana ballot.  How’s that for justice??  However, I will be voting for John McCain.  I figure that if anyone is reading this who will hate or scorn me for my voting choice, I may as well have it out now.  I cannot with good conscience vote to put someone into office who goes against my beliefs in the sanctity of human life and in limited government.  The democratic candidate seems to go against most of our country’s founding principles.  It’s scary to me in many ways.  Why should we change our country’s stance on most matters to reflect the stance of other troubled and unhappy countries?

We shouldn’t.

Just because the “rest of the world” is convinced of whom we should vote doesn’t mean they’re right.  I’m unhappy with what seems to be the limitation of free speech and the intolerance of folks with a different view point (from the democratic party and its supporters).  Get a grip, people.  We vote according to fundamental life-valuing beliefs.  As for social justice, that is something we must do on our own time–not something dictated to us by those who wield power.  If a nation or group of people cannot be persuaded to give generously to those in need, then the morality will not be instilled by force.

</Rant>

I don’t like these sticky situations.  I’m just tired of being timid and not speaking what I believe.

2 Timothy 1:7

Weymouth New Testament
For the Spirit which God has given us is not a spirit of cowardice, but one of power and of love and of sound judgement.

Wesley’s Notes

1:7 And let nothing discourage thee, for God hath not given us – That is, the spirit which God hath given us Christians, is not the spirit of fear – Or cowardice. But of power – Banishing fear. And love and sobriety – These animate us in our duties to God, our brethren, and ourselves.

