Tags

, , , , , , , ,


Every now and again, I pick up a book because it looks like it might be something special…and I begin to read it.  Even more rarely, I read a book that I know will change my life.  I know that if it doesn’t change my life, I am a very sad sinner, indeed.

Don’t get me wrong, I am a hungry reader.  I read and read and read.  In my mind, I devour books.  I read books about chickens and saints and entrepreneurs.  Usually, I read them all at once.  Most of these books are passing fancies–light fluff to make me think and wonder but not to really change me deep down.

I would like you to read this book I am reading right now.  It is the Hundred Dollar Holiday.  If we can work up some type of round robin deal here where everyone can read it and you don’t all have to go out and buy it–that’s great.  If you already have it, I would love to hear your thoughts here.  If you would like to read it, please get in touch with me and we’ll work out an exchange.  Mind you, I would like to keep this book.  However, as soon as I’m finished reading it–I want to share it with you.  I’ll leave you with an excerpt from the second chapter:

If there’s one way in which the world has changed more than any other since 1840 (the installation of the modern Christmas holiday), one thing that’s truly different in our lives, it’s that we’ve become such devout consumers.  That consumption carries with it certain blessings (our lives are long and easy by any historical standard) and certain costs (first and foremost the damage it causes to the rest of creation).  But the greatest cost may be the way it’s changed us, the way it has managed to confuse us about what we really want from the world.  We weren’t built just for this life we find ourselves leading–we were built for silence and solitude, built for connection with each other and the natural world, built for so much more than we now settle for.  Christmas is the moment to sense that, the moment to reach for the real joys.

Check out this resource I just discovered while browsing the web for info on the Hundred Dollar Holiday.  It is a website touting the New American Dream.  Some of you may already be well acquainted with this site but it is brand new to me!

