Tags

, , ,


Excuse me? I was asking for doughnuts. My loving husband didn’t realize that when a woman volunteers to make doughnuts she is not going to be easily swayed by a suggestion to just eat some hot cereal.

Now, don’t get me wrong. I love hot cereal. I made this hot cereal from ingredients in our own pantry (brown rice, grits, oatmeal, flax seed, wheat germ, barley and dried milk). I’m sure it’s delicious. However, with the chill in the air here at BrightHaven and the rumbly in my tummy, hot cereal just wasnt’ going to cut it!

I went straight to my trusty red and white Better Homes and Gardens cookbook (1989 edition) and found a recipe for Mexican Doughnut Strips. Although the recipe is a trifle involved, we thought the end result was WELL worth the effort.

Mexican Doughnut Strips

2 T butter
2 t sugar (I used brown)
1/2 cup water
(combine and bring to a boil on stovetop. all at once, add…)
1/2 cup flour
(stir with wooden spoon until mixture forms a ball. that’s right, we pretty much have the recipe for cream puffs here. remove from heat and let cool for about 10 minutes)
1 egg
(I used my bread machine to knead the egg into the flour mixture, because I know how hard it is to get that egg thoroughly combined!)
*****though the recipe does not call for it, I added a bit of salt and a LOT of almond extract. You may want to add more sugar as well.**************

Cooking instructions:

Spoon dough into a pastry bag fitted with a star tip. Yes, you may use a plastic bag for this but please make sure it is a sturdy one. I burst two bags before I found one strong enough to stand up to piping the dough! Line a cookie/baking sheet with waxed paper and pipe dough in 3″X3/4″ segments. Place sheets in freezer for about 15 minutes or until dough may be easily separated from wax paper (but not completely frozen). Fry each strip in oil until evenly browned. Sprinkle, roll or dip strips in powdered sugar and serve with freshly brewed hot coffee or hot cocoa.

Enjoy!!

Added note: you may have noticed by the ingredient list that this recipe does not make a large batch. I tripled the recipe and made two dozen doughnut sticks.

Yesterday, we had our first experience with roasting our own coffee beans. A dear friend who will remain nameless until after Christmas, supplied us with some green coffee beans in exchange for a “coffee roaster.” Of course, we made her stay to partake in the fresh brew. We’re still working out how to get the coffee strong enough to our liking, but it’s magical to be able to roast your own coffee beans!
Take a look at the video below to learn how we did it.

