Tags

, , ,


One of my favorite bloggers around is Our Friend Ben, and I don’t just say that because I know OFB comes around here sometimes.  The reason I mention OFB here is because of the comment left on yesterday’s Advent post.  OFB, I hope you don’t mind, but I wanted everyone to see these marvelous resources that you suggested.

The following excerpt is quoted in its entirety from OFB’s comment.  Hope you all find some wonderful Advent reading.  And, on the off-chance that you have never been there, check out Poor Richard’s Almanac, OFB’s home on the web!

There are many books that help you do just that, some Advent-themed, some more general. You should check some out and see what speaks to you. Some of my favorites are:

  • Walking with Bilbo: A devotional adventure through The Hobbit;
  • Prayertimes with Mother Teresa;
  • Advent and Christmas Wisdom from St. Francis of Assisi;
  • Daybreaks: Daily Reflections for Advent and Christmas; and
  • The Simple Life: Devotional Thoughts from Amish Country.

I find that beginning and ending each day with these simple reflections puts me in a more prayerful state all day. Needless to say, there are many other Advent devotionals to choose from! I’m also fortunate enough to own a copy of a booklet that was published back in 1955 by an intentional Christian lay community called Grailville in Loveland, Ohio. It’s caled The Twelve Days of Christmas, and contains all kinds of charming family-friendly Advent activities. Worth looking for!

