Tags

, ,


janeaustengirls

I had a friend in college who constantly teased me about being a grandma. I drove a station wagon, went to bed early, didn’t drink, do drugs or live on the edge. Was I offended? Far from it. Since I can remember, I have loved being around folks older than myself. Let’s just face it: if you’ve only been alive 20 or 30 so years, you don’t really have much to offer to the world at large–yet. I love seeing older people who are an active and vital part of their families, churches and communities. They have so much to offer and serve as such a source of inspiration.

However, the reason for this post is not simply to sing the praises of the oldest generation. I was writing in my journal the other night (first time in well over a year…) when I decided to get around to making New Year’s resolutions. I don’t make these resolutions lightly or often. In fact, I usually don’t make them at all because I like to let my yeas be yeas and my nays be nays. It doesn’t benefit me to write a list of idealistic resolutions only to abandon them immediately. That said, there are a few things I have been mulling that I would like to accomplish this year. As I pondered my list in my journal, I determined that they could all be summed up in one phrase: being old-fashioned.

I want this year to be a year of returning to some of the old ways for us. I am learning to sew more and more of our needed items. Our reliance on grocery stores/markets is in decline and I would like to see what all we could learn to make for ourselves–or make do with! Other areas I want to address in this endeavor are:

  • family relations–more respectful and solicitous
  • vocabulary–I love big old-fashioned words!
  • manners–caring, compassionate, generous and unselfish
  • clothing–more feminine clothing for me–I’m all about ribbons and lace these days. I want to look like a lovely, feminine creature–maybe for the first time in my life!
  • reading–classics, informative articles, learning materials
  • sewing/creating–I’ve been making cushions and bed pillows and undergarments and reconstructing any garments that will be still long enough!

I believe that about sums up my high-flown ideals for this year. Does anyone have any suggestions to help me see this through??

On a completely separate note, I just launched a new website (The Home Gnome) for my vintage sales. I would love it if you would take a moment to pop over there and let me know what you think.

Until then,

Becca

