Tags

, , ,


hollisalicedating

I’ve written about them before: Hollis and Alice Baker–two of my favorite people and bloggers around.  Well, Mrs. Alice doesn’t actually blog, as far as I know, but I’m sure Mr. Hollis would say she is the wind beneath his wings.  I won’t tell you exactly where (cause I want to give them a little privacy) but these good folks are out in Texas, growing flowers, riding golf carts and praying hard for whomever might have a request.

The following excerpt is taken from Mr. Hollis’ most recent blog post.  I’m sure you will enjoy it as much as I did.  He’s our modern day Mark Twain–no two ways about it!  Do go by and say hello.  Of course, tell him Becca sent you!

markandhollis

We have a lot of cats. Well, really they have us. You see these cats were abandoned on the road that runs by our house and they just naturally take up residence at our place. We can’t touch them, nor do I want to. When I holler scat you can be sure they all head for the timber. All but one. He is a big black tomcat with a white streak of fur that runs from his nose, down the front of his chest and disappears under his belly. He has long shiny black hair that gives him a set of wide whiskers that reminds me of an old time banker. He looks mean. He doesn’t scat very well. In fact he looked up at me and said, “What do you mean, ‘scat’?”

The first time this happened I was a bit taken aback. But we soon were on speaking terms, and are now getting along well. I named him Felix for no other reason than he looks like a ‘Felix’. Felix refuses to speak or answer me when any other cat or human is around. That seems to suit us both just fine.

The other day, when we had a few spring days and the weather was fine, I was sitting, swinging in the porch swing when he ambled up and sat there eyeing me closely. I spoke to him and asked how his new year was progressing?

He licked his paws, preened his fur and replied, “Just fine, as long as you keep the cat food coming.”

I felt that was a sassy reply, but not surprising. “No, I mean how do you feel about the financial problems, the wars, the weather, and the new administration?”

“The finance’s of a person, state or nation is a natural roller coaster ride,” Felix said. “ Most of the trouble is in our attitude towards the problem. We probably need to be more careful with our spending anyway.” “As for the wars, you know what the Bible says about armed conflicts. We all deplore them but keep getting ourselves involved in them anyway,” he continued. “As for the government in Washington, I think the new administration will do about as well as it can. There are a lot of folks with their hands out for many reasons, some worthy, some greedy, and some down right swindling.”

About this time a calico cat came upon the porch, arched her back and hissed at Felix. He took umbrage at the interruption and chased her back into the woods. He soon returned and lay down and curled himself up as if to take a nap.

“Hey,” I hollered, “You didn’t say a thing about this weather we are having. You know it is dryer than I can remember.”

Felix got up, stretched, clawed the gallery post and said, “You know, you humans must spend a lot of time thinking up things to worry about.” “You know there has only been one time when it never rained?”

Well he had me there. “And when was that?” I demanded.

“This time,” he said sarcastically. “Happy New Year, and don’t forget to get another bag of cat food at Winkley’s Hardware and Feed store.”

With that he ambled off down the porch and into the woods.

Hollis Baker 4 January 2009

