Tags

,


I’m a sucker for old country music.  The bolder the twang and the sweeter the yodel, the more I like it.  James and I are up early this morning as he prepares for his Toastmasters meeting so we had to find appropriate music for our listening pleasure.  Who better to greet the day than the wonderful Slim Whitman?  After doing a quick Google search, I came to appreciate this mighty yodeler even more.

How did I come about my Slim Whitman music?  Well, it’s actually pretty wonderful.  After coming back from a wedding shower last weekend, I was perusing the ads on Craigslist when I came across a listing for someone giving away the contents of their garage.  I call this a “Garage Free.”  Of course, we hopped into the station wagon and went to visit these lovely people (does this make us bad??).  Anyway, we had a great time, got to meet lots of folks and made some amazing finds.  One of the first things I picked snapped up was a great record/8 track player.  James has been wanting a record player for a while and I have been yearning for an 8 track player.  Great!  Not far from the stereo was a faux alligator case filled with 8 tracks.  Of course, these weren’t just any 8 tracks.  They’re recordings from the likes of Marty Robbins, Johnny Cash, Slim Whitman, Connie Smith, Patsy Cline and more!

Hearing the soulful yodel of Slim Whitman was just the thing to start our day off and even motivated me to write a little post, telling you all about it.  What’s your favorite way to start the day?  Music, reading, solitude?  Let me know and in the meantime, enjoy this great video.

