Tags

, , ,


‘Though I should be trying to sort out our tax return, I would much rather show you some of the photos we took during our recent trip to Louisiana. We take Hwy. 84 across Mississippi and so are able to see some lovely countryside and wonderful bits of Americana. I’ll start us off about midway through the drive with some images of Natchez, Mississippi.

Hattiesburg loves its brightly colored homes.

Natchez loves its brightly colored homes.

This is very likely one of my favorite homes in Natchez. We passed it once before I could get a decent shot of it. LOVE that color!

A hilly town

A hilly town

Natchez is quite hilly, with a levee on one side of the town. Perhaps you’ve heard of Natchez under the hill?

Third world?

Third world?

This is a true snapshot of the South. Amid the luxurious surroundings, verdant greens and old homesites you will find abject poverty.

Interstate Coffee

Interstate Coffee

I love Americana shots and am really trying to increase this type of shot. This building was right down the street from the Salvation Army thrift shop that wouldn’t let us in. Grrrrr…

Gotta love these colors

Gotta love these colors

How many times can one fire hydrant possibly be repainted?

Antiques and nursery

Antiques and nursery

This little place is a must next time we go through Natchez.  Though I’m sure it will be priced beyond our budget, I love the concept of antiques and plants being sold in the same place!!

Not Scotland

Not Scotland

Empty lot next to Dairy Queen in Natchez.  It reminded me so much of foreign shores.

Well, I hope you’ve enjoyed your visit in Natchez.  Do try to go in person someday.  Stay tuned for more shots of the trip!

