Tags

, , , , , ,


The first time we came across Frogmore Plantation, we weren’t even expecting it. We were forced to detour last August because of Hurricane Rita and found that we now love our detour route much better than the bland interstate route. I say, leave the interstates to commerce. Let us take the scenic route. Life’s too short to spend it on the interstate!!
Unfortunately, we have still not been able to tour the plantation since we’re always coming through on a weekend, holiday or too late. Someday, we hope to have the tour. I’m sure it will be grand. In the meantime, enjoy these photos I was able to gather from the side of the road.

Frogmore Mound

Frogmore Mound

I must admit, I thought this would be a mound of frogs, kind of like the story about the great frog war. Please don’t be offended.

100_2121

The main house is on the other side of this building. It’s a lovely white antebellum structure with a gracious stairway. The land surrounding the plantation is still in farm production. If you tour this facility, you will be touring a working cotton plantation and gin.  I love the color and history of the South!

Flatlands

Flatlands

This was my favorite structure on the grounds. I would totally live in this house. I’d have a sweet cottage garden and picket fence surrounding it with hollyhocks, sunflowers and bean vines. Wouldn’t it be lovely?

Hayrake

Hayrake

Look for the horse

Look for the horse

I’m not sure what this building is–I’m guessing that it’s a barn–seeing as there’s a horse statue outside. That didn’t overly tax my powers of deduction now, did it?

For more information, visit Frogmore Plantation

