Tags

, , ,


Since I was a young girl, growing up in rural Louisiana, surrounded by horses, goats, chickens, woods and books–I have been a voracious reader. My parents always read a lot so it is only natural that they raised at least one child who would rather read than just about anything else.
One thing I have noticed about my reading habit is how wrapped up I get in the lives of the characters. I will meditate on the characters and the situations in which they find themselves. If I’m reading a pleasant book, this can be a good thing. If I’m reading an unpleasant book, the results can be–well, unpleasant. Just recently, I tried to read The Road by Cormac McCarthy and quickly realized I would not be able to take that trip with The Man and The Boy. On a more positive and historical note, I have been busy immersing myself in the lives of the English kings and queens. I acquired a book on every English queen since about 1000 A.D. I say “about” because I’m not exactly sure when it begins and I can’t put my hand on the book right now. Immediately upon finishing, I dove into volumes 1&2 on the life of King Edward VII. How thrilling! Now, I’m working on a series of novels about each of King Henry’s wives. I love it when history comes to life!
On a less happy note, I only recently finished a novel that I began to read about 4 months ago. In the middle of the story, a great tragedy occurred and I was so shocked and hurt that something so terrible happened to my favorite characters that I put the book down–refusing to read a page more. I couldn’t bear it. It was as though a part of me was gone. Silly, I know but that’s how serious I am about reading books. Earlier this week, I came to the end of my grieving process and finished the book. I’m glad I did–set in the bayou country of Louisiana, it’s a fascinating story of the French Creole community in the late 1800s and early 20th century. I would love to give you the title of the book and highly recommend it but I don’t want anyone to be upset because I gave away a plot element. So, I’ll tell you that it’s by Frances Parkinson Keyes. That should be plenty of info!

Well, I’m off to wake the girls. My youngest sister and her two girls are spending the weekend with me. We’re planning on plenty of thrift store shopping today. Micah makes amazingly lovely hair fascinators and she’s always on the lookout for more beautiful things. Take a look at her etsy shop, Hope From Marshall , if you have a minute to spare–and have a great day!

