Tags

, , ,


Some of you may recall the unceasing moaning I did last year about our lack of a working oven.  I was reduced to cooking biscuits on the stove top or griddle.  Stove top biscuits, let me tell you, do not cut it.  They were more like thick pitas or tortillas.  But, the story ends well.  James was able to find the part for the stove and now it works again–like the wonder of modern technology that it is.

Unfortunately, during the time of no oven, I forgot how to make cornbread.  Before the lack, I had become quite adept at golden delicious cakes of cornbread that folks just loved diving into.  To my shock, after a year-long hiatus, that touch was lost.  I made cake after cake of cornbread–most of which was fed to the dogs.  It was pretty sad times for me and for James.  Happy times for the dogs but definitely sad for us.

Last night, all that changed.  In desperation, I pulled out Jane Brody’s Good Food Book, sort of as a return to my roots.  I had begun my cornbread salad days using a recipe of hers and then improvising.  Maybe I could do it again.  Friends, I must tell you that it was a shining success.

I started out using her Corny Corn muffins recipe (page 600-01), altered it to our tastes and ended up with something roughly resembling this:

1 1/2 cups cornmeal

1/2 cup all purpose flour

1/4 cup sugar

1/2 t salt

3/4 T baking powder

3/4 t baking soda

(In a large bowl, mix dry ingredients together with a whisk.  In medium sized bowl, mix together:)

2 eggs

1 1/2 cup buttermilk

3 T butter, melted

(add liquid ingredients to dry, blend.  Add:)

1 cup frozen corn

Mix all ingredients thoroughly and bake in greased cast iron skillet at 425 F until cake is golden.

We all congratulated ourselves on how well the cornbread turned out.  Jennifer said she was glad to have missed all the bad cornbread days, James said we should definitely stick with this recipe.  I simply buttered another slice and smiled.

 

