Tags

, , ,


I’m not a big fan of the Christmas hustle and bustle–I don’t count the days until I can sing Christmas carols nor do I break out the Christmas decorations the hour after Christmas dinner! I love the family time and evenings by the wood stove. The homey, woodsy part is the best part of the season for me. And midnight mass. I’ve never been to a midnight mass but I think it would be special.

But, by far my favorite part of the Christmas season is the careless abandonment to spicy fragrances. I love cinnamon and cloves and nutmeg–all the lovely smells bombarding my nose are a “scentual” delight. With that in mind, I’ve already bought several bags of scented pine cones. They smell so nice but James did make the off comment that he couldn’t believe I bought pine cones!  Granted, I only paid 75 cents a bag (Pensacola folks–Christmas decor shopping at St. Vincent de Paul.  Stat!) but they were still pine cones.  Kind of like buying sticks, I guess…

With his comment in mind, I began an online search for making my own scented pinecones.  What luck!  I found several recipes immediately.  One of the recipes required a seasoning period of 8 weeks, so I didn’t even bother with it. The other three were seemingly much easier to do in a short amount of time.  Without further ado, here are the recipes:

Variation 1: Clean and dry pinecones.  Cones can be dried in an oven on low setting.  Spray cones with water into which you’ve mixed several drops of essential or perfume oils.  Allow cones to dry.

Variation 2: Dilute white glue with water, paint pine cones with glue mixture and sprinkle spices.  Close in plastic bag for 24 hours.  Remove cones from bag, shaking to be sure that all loose spices are gone.

Variation 3: (my favorite)  Place cones in large plastic bag in a single layer.  Spray with spray on adhesive–being careful not to inhale fumes.  Close bag and shake cones.  Open bag, spray cones again.  Close bag, shake again.  Re-open bag, sprinkle cones with spices of your choice (cinnamon, cloves, nutmeg, etc…)  From this point, proceed just as you would in variation 2.

I hope you have found some great ideas for your own craft time.  I’ve provided links to all my sources so be sure to visit them to get the exact measurements you need.  Have fun!

PS–looking for a cheap source for spices?  I always buy the cheap ones at Big Lots or dollar stores.  That way, you can save some money and still have a great product!

