Tags

, , ,


Peanut Butter cookies

For Christmas this year, one of the lovely and useful gifts I received was a book of Christmas cookie recipes. Yum! Because of the severe cold, my severe cold and trying to cut down on butter consumption here at BrightHaven, I just haven’t gotten around to making any cookies.

Today, however, was the day. The temperatures have risen to a pleasant springiness–though I hear we will have snow tonight. The house is slightly clean and comfortable. Even better, I found a recipe that did NOT call for butter! I think you’re really going to like this recipe, so I am determined to share it with you. Just a small caveat, the recipe you’re about to see is not the original recipe. I don’t think I’ve ever been truthfully accused of following a recipe to the letter and this time was no different.

The Recipe–>
1 cup peanut butter
1 cup sugar (1/2 brown, 1/2 white)
1 egg
1 t vanilla
1/4 cup wheat germ

Mix all ingredients together, roll dough into balls, place on cookie sheet, criss-cross with fork and bake for 10 minutes in a 350 degree oven.

Tada! Amazing easy recipe! The last two ingredients were my additions. Why not make your own variations? For those folks following a vegan diet, mash an over-ripe banana and use it in place of the egg. The banana will bind the ingredients AND give you that lovely banana flavor!

Enjoy the recipe and DO let me know what you think!

