Tags

, , , , , , ,


Pumpkin Butter Bread

Last week, I think it was, or maybe the week before–I forget–I finally lugged in the Musquee de Provence pumpkin from the front yard and made pumpkin butter with it.  As I also made pumpkin butter last year, I won’t detail the process here.  However, if you would like to make your OWN pumpkin butter, you can read all about it in this pumpkin butter post Be sure to read to the end of the post to see the modifications I made to the recipe this year.

I have remembered that I made the pumpkin butter around the first of this month b/c I for sure made the pumpkin butter bread last week for the first time.  I started with a basic pumpkin bread recipe but changed it up to suit the ingredients I was going to use.  Of course, I started off with my ever trusty Jane Brody’s Good Food Book.  I feel you can’t go wrong starting things off from such a great base!  🙂

Pumpkin Butter Bread

1/4 cup pure cane sugar

1/2 cup oil

2 eggs

3/4 cup pumpkin butter

1 t vanilla

(mix first four ingredients together)

1.5 cups all purpose flour

1 t baking powder

1 t baking soda

1 t cinnamon

1/4 t salt, if desired

(mix these dry ingredients together in a separate bowl.  An easy way to combine dry ingredients that I have found is to mix them together with a whisk.  You get a lovely whisked/sifted together product!)

Add wet ingredients into dry.  Mix thoroughly.

Add,

1/2 cup chopped dates.

Turn all ingredients into a well greased loaf pan.  Bake at 350 degrees for about one hour.  Remove from oven and devour loaf immediately.

With not much effort at all, James and I can consume one loaf within a day’s time.  This stuff is just THAT good.  I never knew how much I would like dates until I baked them this way.  They don’t have the same chewy texture that a raisin has (which I despise–sorry raisin-lovers).  Instead, the dates seem to melt into the baked product, leaving behind small morsels of tasty goodness!

