Tags

, , , , ,


Cheesecake and hazelnut coffee

Let me just say that I cannot believe how amazingly simple this cheesecake is to make and we all have Silence DoGood over at Poor Richard’s Almanac to thank.

Yesterday, Silence posted her good friend Sarah’s cheesecake recipe. Unfortunately for me, I read all about it. Even more unfortunately, I came to the conclusion that this cheesecake was quite possibly the easiest cheesecake in the world to concoct. I’m talking FIVE ingredients, people!  If you never have made a cheesecake or if you make a cheesecake every day of your life, you really owe it to yourself and those you love to try this splendid recipe.  I will give you Sarah’s recipe with my alterations in italics…

Sarah’s Simply Divine Wonderful Cheesecake

3 8 oz. packages cream cheese (I used Neufchatel cheese)

5 whole eggs (I used 3 eggs as Silence said I could use fewer and still maintain flavor)

1 cup sugar (I used pure cane sugar)

1.5 t vanilla (I used 1 TABLESPOON, per Silence’s and my taste preference) 🙂

1/4 t salt

Mix all ingredients together in large bowl.  Grease 9 inch springform pan or 9 inch round cake pan if you lack the springform.  Lacking both, I simply used a rectangular glass baking dish.  I promise, the taste does not change in the least. Insert in oven preheated to 325 degrees.  And here’s the part where you have to be patient–>bake for 90 minutes!

An hour and a half later, James and I were busy watching Julie & Julia so we were distracted long enough to let the cheesecake cool for a bit.  But when we did slice into it, we were assured that it was all worth waiting for!  This morning, as James rushed out the door, I cut a large piece of the refrigerated cheesecake (for extra protein, heh, heh).  🙂  The chilled cheesecake has a wonderful firm consistency that makes it a perfect finger food.

So, what are you waiting for?  Make this delicious cheesecake and then come back and tell me all about it!

