Tags

, , , ,


A dear friend called me up earlier today. She was frustrated. She was overwhelmed with STUFF and just didn’t know what to do. So, she thought to herself: “I’ll give Becca a call. She lives so simply. I want to do that.”

My friend seemed shocked when I told her my remedy to too much stuff was backing the curbside garbage can up to the front door and chunking everything! Okay, maybe not everything but quite a good bit.

She and I talked a bit and I told her about a book James and I have been reading and that we frequently reference: “It’s All too Much!” by Peter Walsh. There are lots more books out there but this one really opened our eyes as to why we keep certain things. I didn’t mention this to my friend, but when I’m really feeling overwhelmed but not motivated to de-clutter, I visit the A&E TV website and watch a couple of episodes of “Hoarders.” That usually gets a couple of boxes and bags out of my hair! 🙂

Even though James and I do not have children, we run a couple of businesses and he volunteers with the Florida State Massage Therapy Association, so you can imagine that we have more than our share of “stuff.” Even though our little house is only 900 sq ft, we have managed to pack it full of things for sale, decorations, things for keep and more. It’s a real challenge not to let these things take over our lives.

Do you have any hard and fast rules for the things that take up space in your home? I’d love to hear how you deal with this issue. Do you deal with it? Do you ignore it? Do you not even know it exists? Does it NOT exist for you? Speak up! I want to know!

