Tags

, , , ,


A friend of mine and I have been sharing tips on repairing vintage sewing machines. As we were talking, another friend asked WHY we liked the older machines SO much.

Well, I like them because:

*they’re solid

*they’re like new cars versus old cars. With the proper tools, curiosity and a little inherent ability, anyone can fix the older machines

*they’ve been sewing for over 50 years–no reason they’re going to stop now!

*and, most importantly, they come in awesome colors!

One of the most recent repairs is a beautiful shiny black Necchi BU, circa 1951. This machine weighs about 35 pounds and is a real trouper! Our neighbor was trashing it because he couldn’t get it to work anymore. When I found it, I wasn’t sure I could fix it either, but I thought I’d give it a shot! Today, it runs beautifully–almost as well as my cadillac of vintage sewing machines: the Singer 201 (1947)

And the rest of the collection (not including the Emdeko and the BabyLock)

And, just today, I listed the Necchi BU Sewing Machine Instruction and Maintenance manual in my etsy shop. It’s a full color PDF!

You can find the Necchi BU sewing machine manual in my etsy shop!  Just click on the link–> Necchi BU

