Tags

, , ,


Yes. 10:30 PM. I’m eating pound cake. And, it is good. 🙂

Last week, a friend gave us some wax cappings, saying that she hoped we could use them for the wax and we could get a little honey from them as well. We took her at her word, thinking we’d get a small amount of honey.

Using the crush and strain method, I pummeled that wax until I couldn’t squeeze any more honey goodness out of it–and we ended up with about a pound of delicious raw honey.

Some of you may know that we have cut out carbohydrates from our diet–and have been amazed at the results: weight wise, energy wise and mood-wise. However, you will never catch this girl turning down fresh raw honey.

That’s no excuse for what I made with this honey. 🙂 I made the simplest, most delicious pound cake–ever!

Honey-Lemon Pound Cake

1 cup butter, creamed
3/4 cup raw honey
1 t vanilla extract
1/2 t lemon extract

cream these four ingredients together, add:

3 eggs (we were actually able to use local eggs for this as well!)

combine with mixer, add:

2 1/2 t baking powder
1/4 t baking soda
3/4 t salt

add:

2 cups AP flour, by the spoonful

add:

1/2 cup milk

Mix thoroughly. Pour batter (slightly thick) into greased loaf pan and cook at 350 F. I cooked cake for about an hour and a half.

***Very strong honey flavor to this cake. You will love it with rich, dark coffee for breakfast. Oops, I mean, I will love it that way! However you like eat your pound cake, you’re going to love trying this recipe!

