Tags

, , , ,


Image courtesy of The Graphics Fairy

Happy 4th of July to everybody! I’m sure you’ve all heard the saying “as American as apple pie…” Well, I thought today would be a great day to share a little apple pie recipe.  My friend Darlene over at Darlene’s Garden shared this recipe the other day on facebook.  Since James and I eat very low carb, I did a little tweaking to get it into an acceptable range.  Oh, but it is so good–and you should definitely try it today!

French Apple Pie

1/4 cup butter

2 T honey

2 T sucralose

1 egg

1/2 t salt

2 T cinnamon

1 t nutmeg

1 t baking soda

1 cup whole grain flour mixture (my own mixture includes ground brown rice, buckwheat flour, milled flax seed & oats)

1/2 chopped pecans

4-5 peeled, cored and diced apples

1 T vanilla extract

2 T hot water

Mix ingredients in order given.  Turn ingredients into a greased pie pan and bake at 350 degrees for 40-45 minutes.

Top with cream cheese frosting–>

3 oz cream cheese

1/4 cup butter

1 T honey

