Tags

, ,


Well, for starters, it’s something I never imagined I would whip up in my own kitchen!  It’s so chock full of home-grown veggies and meat protein that I am loaded with good energy!  Going along with our low-carb diet, James and I have upped our fat and protein intake to assist our nutrition goals.  It’s been fun as we find new and interesting dishes to make.

I came across the Meatza recipe on Primal Women in the Kitchen‘s website.  Click on the link to see the original recipe as the one below is my own variation.

 

What you will need to make this Meatza–>

  • 1 lb ground beef
  • 1 egg
  • 2 T ricotta cheese
  • 1 T basil
  • 1 T oregano or marjoram
  • 1 t sea salt
  • ground pepper to taste

Knead these ingredients together and then press into a greased cookie sheet.  I made the mixture as flat as possible (about 1/4 of an inch).  Bake crust in a 350 degree oven for 10-15 minutes.  Remove pan from oven and tip to remove any extra fat.

Here is how we topped our Meatza tonight–>

  • sauteed two links of sweet Italian sausage
  • grated one bell pepper
  • halved about 1 pint of cherry tomatoes
  • sliced fresh mozzarella and grated some Kraft mozzarella
  • 1 sliced jalapeno

Topped the meat crust with all of this goodness (tomatoes first, then cheese, followed by sausage and peppers).

Bake in the oven until cheese is nicely melted.

Enjoy!

