Tags

, , , ,


Since James and I have branched out into eating steaks, we’ve also been figuring out how to prepare and cook them.  I do not exaggerate when I tell you that I have almost nil experience with cooking this type of meat.  We didn’t grill steaks when I was growing up, I became a vegetarian in college and just never went in for grilling after I ventured forth on my own.

My first experience with a steak was trying to pan-fry a chuck tender steak–without even marinating it first!! :0  I apologized to the steer and fed the remnants to the dogs.

Our second experience was with a packet of rib eyes that James brought home one night.  Between the two of us, we figured that we needed to marinate the steaks for several hours and then grill.

Amazing.

The secret really is in the sauce.

I searched the web for a likely sounding marinade and came up with this spicy marinade for our first try–>

1 cup soy sauce

1/2 cup lime juice

2 T olive oil

1 clove garlic

1 slice onion

1 jalapeno, chopped

1 pint cherry tomatoes, halved

Marinate steaks for at least two hours.

Tonight, I tried marinade number two.  I was feeling pretty bold since I’m now familiar with the concept behind a marinade.  Too bad we were out of lime juice, because that was a really nice addition to the marinade!  Tonight’s marinade was a vinegar/soy sauce combination–>

1 cup soy sauce

1/4 cup balsamic vinegar

1/4 cup apple cider vinegar

2 T olive oil

1 clove garlic

1/4 cup chopped green onion

2 jalapenos, chopped

Wow!  What a zingy taste!  Spicy and tart.  This marinade is my favorite so far.

Do you have a favorite marinade to share?

