Tags

, , , , , ,


Hillcrest Farm and Vineyard

If you “follow” me on Twitter or you browse my photos on Flickr, you know by now that James and I had a great adventure yesterday that ended with us discovering a small (40 acres) “U-Pick” farm out in Lillian, Alabama.  We had gone out that way to scope out some potential land and just made a day of it because that area is so nice!

We drove through miles of farm-land, just minutes from our home.  With the array of fresh fruits and vegetables available year round in our climate, it’s hard to image why we take ourselves to the grocery stores at all!

Anyway, this farm visit netted us 3 pounds of plump and juicy blueberries.  With our recent second harvest of honey, blueberries meant only one thing to me: muffins!  I searched online to find an easy blueberry muffin recipe that used honey.  Sure enough, I found one almost immediately!  With several tweaks, it was all mine.  🙂

Blueberry Muffins

1 egg, beaten

1/2 cup buttermilk

1/4 cup olive oil

1/2 cup honey

1/2 t vanilla extract

1 t lemon extract (flavoring)

(blend all these ingredients together)

1 cup self-rising flour

1/2 cup special whole grain mixture w/flax seed

1/2 t baking soda

(combine all ingredients until just moistened)

1 cup fresh or frozen blueberries (I coated the blueberries with flour as I heard that kept them from sinking to the bottom of the batter)

This recipe made 18 light and fluffy muffins (which are all gone by the end of the day).  Does this make us horrible people?

 

 

