Tags

, , , , , , , ,


I’ll let you in on a little secret: I have a thing for vintage tablecloths.  A big thing.  One of my friends has a mantra for me when we go thrifting together: no tablecloths!  Of course, I don’t let that stop me.  I love the flowers and the fruit.  I love the kitschy and the plain.  I love the great condition…and the not so great condition.  Until recently, I never had a good plan for the tablecloths that were simply too far gone to use.

Last week, at one of our regular thrift stores, I was given a lovely aqua and fruit print tablecloth.  The catch?  It looked like someone had spilled furniture polish all over it!  So sad.  😦  There was a large salvageable area, so I brought the cloth home with the idea of making it into something new and useful.

Since last week’s project, I have really been feeling more adventurous in my creation skills, so I decided to make an apron from the parts of the tablecloth that could be saved.  It’s a simple apron pattern that I have made many times before, so I was not in the least bit concerned about the construction.  To embellish the apron…and to cover up one of the stains on the print…I used another Wild Olive design–a happy little daisy face!

I used an outline stitch in a great vibrant pink to contrast with the pretty aqua print.  It’s one of my favorite color combinations these days.  🙂  Let me backtrack here a bit: I was a little clueless as to how to transfer the embroidery design onto the fabric.  So, I went to our local amazing fabric store and found this transfer pencil:

I simply traced the lines of the design, turned the paper over onto the fabric and pressed with a hot iron for a few seconds.  Voila!

I should have told you earlier that the second part of this project was to make the apron completely reversible.  I had a great piece of aqua and white polka-dots to make an excellent foil to the flowers and fruit–and it was just enough!  Before I could sew the two sides together, I had to complete the daisy embroidery–which took me a little longer than it should have–but I’m getting better!  🙂

Once the two sides were sewn together, I hand stitched all of the remaining openings (while watching America’s Next Top Model), so as not to have any unfinished seams that would keep the little apron from looking cute either way it was worn.  I must admit, I am more impressed with my tiny hand stitches than with any other part of the garment.  It’s not something I’ve done often and I’m very pleased with the results.  Alas, no photos of the hand stitching!

All in all, it was great to have a deadline for the project, as it ensured a finish time.  I’m still toying with the addition of some rickrack, but may or may not do it.

I already have some ideas for next week’s project (and I’ve begun working on one of them!) but we’ll just have to see what makes it into the blog project queue!  What projects are you working on these days?

