Tags

, , , , , ,


NOTE: yes, I am still feeling markedly unmotivated.  I actually do have several projects floating around in my head–but they’re mostly Christmas gifts for family!  On the off chance that some of my sisters and sisters in love are reading this post, I really can’t be giving away my secrets, now can I?  So, I’ll leave you with a project that I originally posted about two years ago.  All of these aprons are gone now but I definitely loved them while they were around!  Well, I always had issues with the bib on the last one…

As for Georgette Heyer, still a huge fan.  Should you come across any of her novels, you really should give them a read!

The last few weeks have seen a marked increase in my viewing and reading Regency romances.  If you’ve yet to hear of Georgette Heyer, you should hie thee to Amazon and do your best to find a compendium of her works.  I suggest Cotillion and Arabella as two of my favorites so far.  Silence, if you’re reading this, I still hold you responsible for my love affair with Heyer’s works!  Here’s an interesting bit of trivia I read about Georgette Heyer the other day.  I was hoping to find some of her sweet books made into movies and was only able to find two–The Reluctant Widow and another whose name I cannot remember.  I did a bit more searching and came upon an explanation for the dearth of Heyer movies.  Upon watching the film version of The Reluctant Widow, Heyer immediately put a clause in her will/business papers/whatever it was that said no other of her books could EVER be made into movies!  How’s that for a vote of confidence??!!

But, enough of this Georgette Heyer fol-de-rol.  You’re here because you want to know about making a Regency apron!  How did I do it?

Well, on my first try, I began with a floor length half apron.  I was still feeling a bit overwhelmed by the idea of making my own apron and so wanted to start with at least one pre-made bit!  To this apron, I attached a bib made of feedsack and bias tape shoulder straps.  Result?  I actually like it!  It’s comfortable, it’s kind of cute and it gives great coverage for cooking and gardening!  As an added bonus, the pre-made apron already had enormous pockets, so that’s another element I wasn’t responsible for!  🙂

Regency apron #1

As I said, I like this apron well enough but it still was not quite what I had in mind.  So I went searching for some instructions online.  I found a step by step set of instructions that seemed promising.  It had to do with measuring your hips and bust height and width and waistband and over the shoulder length and all kinds of measurements.  I faithfully took each measurement…and ended up with this–>

Regency apron #2

Which is okay but not AT ALL what I wanted!  As well, the directions told me to gather the top portion of the apron skirt to fit within a certain dimension on the waistband.  These directions are wrong!  Who wants to wear a garment with a chunk of material right at the waistline!  Not this apron maker!  For those of you ladies who are thinner and need a good and thick serviceable apron, this second model is available for sale in my etsy shop The Home Gnome.  Clicking the link will take you directly to its page.  🙂

For my third try, I looked askance at my sheet(s) of directions and went to work on an apron that more closely resembled what I wanted.  I shortened the over the bust measurement, narrowed the skirt and did not gather it as much.  I also gathered the bottom portion of the bib, to give the apron more of a romantic (and flattering) look.  The waistband and straps stayed pretty much the same.  I used a pretty vintage sheet for which I had no other use.  The result?  Just want I want except I’ll need to change the angle of the bust a tiny bit for the next model!

Regency Apron #3

And since I was feeling particularly creative this day, the buttonholes are hand bound and the apron is hemmed by hand.  The rest is machine sewn but I am ecstatic about sewing my own buttonholes.  Sewing nerd=me.

For those of you who may be feeling slightly jealous by the obviously beautiful day we were having when I took these photos–don’t worry.  The heat’s back on and the day is gray, gray, gray.

