Tags

, ,


Earlier this week, I was watching a little bit of a Punky Brewster episode.  I admired her cute little Rainbow Brite jacket…and her socks…and her shoes…when it hit me.

Every bit of my sense of style can be traced back to the 1980s…and I’m not talking about Cyni Lauper–though I do like some of her style.

Probably my most defining style aspect is that I love wearing striped socks.  My family and my friends all know this about me.  In fact, my very young friends know this about me as well.  The episode of Punky Brewster brought it all full circle.

My favorite television shows and dolls/toys when growing up were (in no certain order):

  • Strawberry Shortcake
  • Punky Brewster
  • Rainbow Brite
  • Holly Hobbie
  • Raggedy Anne

What do all of these girls have in common?  All of them.  Every single one of them has a common feature.  Guessed it yet?

They all wear striped socks.  Seriously.  If you grew up in the ’80s and you consider yourself quirky at all, take a good look at your sock collection.  Now, think back to your favorite playthings of your childhood.  Any style resemblance??

