Tags

, , , , , , ,


This is how I chose to combat lack of sunshine today: with a calamondin marmalade cake topped and filled with calamondin curd.  This calamondin fruit is simply amazing.  I’ve made marmalade, juice and zest with this tiny mouth-puckering fruit.  It’s a thousand times better than a plain lemon or orange.  I’ve heard it described as a sour orange but it’s not quite that either!

This cake is such a special treat.

I used one of the many lemon-yogurt cake recipes that you’ll find floating around the internet.  Do reduce the sugar though.  Sometimes, I completely cut out the sugar and replace it with my homemade calamondin marmalade!

For the filling, I turned to my trusty Betty Crocker red and white cookbook…such a simple recipe!

3/4 cup sugar

2 T corn starch

1/2 cup water

3 T calamondin juice

1-2 T calamondin marmalade

2 egg yolks, beaten

Combine all ingredients, cook and stir until bubbly.  Cook and stir for two minutes longer.  Add:

1 T butter

Melt butter into mixture.

