Tags

, , , ,


English: I made this digital image

Image via Wikipedia

ImageWith all of my talk about low carb and keeping my blood sugar at a respectable level and what-not, one would think that I would not subject myself (or you) to yet another cake recipe.  Unfortunately, such is not the case.  At least not when this delectable little fruit is part of the picture.  I’m not a chocolate girl.  I love lemons.  I love citrus.  Lemon ice box pie.  Lemon heads.  Lemonade.  All my favorites.  When my good friend Mrs. Teresa introduced me to the calamondin, it was love at first sniff.  This small citrus fruit has an amazing unique flavor and it’s highly abundant in our area.  I have made quarts of marmalade, juiced this fruit and made cakes, scones, cookies, and muffins that highlight the peculiar tang of the calamondin.

So, about nine o’clock in the evening I suddenly had to try this recipe.  So, so glad that I did.  I followed the ingredients to the letter, which is quite unusual for me.  The next time I make it, I will drastically reduce the amount of sugar.  And, this little pudding cake is even better the next morning for breakfast!  I love the sponge-y cake texture over the creamy pudding layer.  Even though the end product is kind of fancy, the actual preparation is super simple.

Here is the recipe:

Calamondin Pudding Cake

  • 1/4 cup sifted AP flour (next time, I think I will sub unsweetened coconut flour)
  • 1 cup sugar (holy moley, this is too much sugar!  1/2 cup would be plenty!)
  • 1/4 t salt
  • 1/4 cup calamondin juice, with a little peel
  • 2 egg yolks, well beaten
  • 1 cup milk
  • 2 egg whites stiffly beaten

Combine dry ingredients.  Add calamondin juice, egg yolks and milk.  Beat egg whites until stiff in a separate container.  Carefully fold egg whites into the calamondin mixture.  Spoon entire mixture into custard cups and bake in a shallow baking dish that has about one inch of water.

Bake at 350 until cake is browned (or about 50 minutes).  We had our pudding cake plain but the recipe suggests serving with whipped cream.

If you love a bit of creamy tang, I think you’ll really enjoy this recipe.  If you try it, let me know!  Of course, you can substitute orange or lemon juice for the calamondin but I am super partial to this most excellent tiny fruit!

